Triumph and Distress! (news about my NYC Midnight Contest entry)

This is me right now!

I am feeling a mixture of elation, dumb-foundedness, success, fear, panic, exhaustion and pure happiness, all at once.

Here’s why. Remember how I entered my first writing contest in January? You know, the one where I had to write a 2,500 word story in 8 days after being given a prompt that included a genre, a subject and a character? The one where I was put into a heat of 25 writers faced with the same challenge, knowing that only 5 of us would make it to the second round? The one where I felt a sense of triumph for just having finished a story that I didn’t feel entirely crappy about and did not expect to make it to the next round at all?

Well guess what. I found out today I freaking made it to the second round.

Yeah, and I don’t know if this means anything, but my story was listed as #1 on my heat’s “Top 5 Writers” listing. And it wasn’t alphabetical. Or arranged by location. Or story title. I checked.

I honestly can’t believe it. This is the first writing contest I’ve ever entered and this was the first short story I’ve written since the ones that I had to write for my college creative writing classes. I feel happy, and I’m not afraid to say it. I feel like maybe I’m not so crazy for believing (sometimes) that I have a talent for story-telling. I feel good.

But, I also feel panicked.

Here is why: I got the email announcing I’d made it to the second round halfway through a 14-hour shoot day here (my 2nd in a row) in St. Louis, along with the instructions that the next round starts tonight at midnight EST (or roughly an hour ago), and that I would have 3 days this time to write a 1,500 word story. Did I mention I have two more 14-hour shoot days ahead of me? And that the 3rd day of this round I will be checking out of my hotel and flying back to LA? The timing of the 2nd round for me is pretty rough, and to be honest I hadn’t planned for it because I never imagined my story would get me to the 2nd round.

But here I am. I just got my prompt, and even though I have to be up in 7 hours, I am not going to sleep until I’ve at least worked out a story in my mind and outlined it enough to start my first draft tomorrow night.

Just because I didn’t plan to be in this situation doesn’t mean I’m not going to grab this challenge by the horns and beat it into submission.

I’ll catch you all on the flip side, in about 1,500 words. Or, when I look like this:

5 thoughts on “Triumph and Distress! (news about my NYC Midnight Contest entry)

  1. WOW!!!! Way to go Lindsay. Congratulations! You may have doubts about your talents but I have never doubted your abilities for a moment. Good luck on the the next leg!!!!

  2. OH WOW! Congratulations! It’s really exciting when talent can be validated like that. I know it’s going to be rough, but I hope you can make it through the second round! Good luck! 😀

  3. Pingback: More Writing Contests…..and a fancy new iPad! | The Non-Writing Writer

  4. Pingback: A New Year, A New Start | The Non-Writing Writer

Leave a Reply

